Chris's Blog Archive

Caldecott Winners Announced

Monday January 27, 2014

This morning, the American Library Association announced the winners of their Youth Services Awards. Several awards were handed out including the Coretta Scott King Award, the Theodore Seuss Geisel Award, the Newbery Medal and my favorite, the Caldecott Medal given to the illustrator of the most distinguished American picture book for children.

There were three Caldecott Honor books: Journey by Aaron Becker, Flora & the Flamingo by Molly Idle, and Mr. Wuffles! by David Weisner. The winner of the Caldecott Medal: Locomotive by Brian Floca.

I was thrilled that Locomotive won! It was one picture book that blew me away this year. I literally gasped as I turned the pages of this book the first time I read it. If you haven’t seen it, go to the library and check it out. It’s outstanding and most definitely worthy of the medal.

What will surely be discussed in blogs and forums is the omission of  Mr. Tiger Goes Wild by Peter Brown. I like this book a lot and it made several top 10 lists. I’m still scratching my head over why this was passed up by the Caldecott committee. Last year Peter won a Caldecott Honor for his illustrations in Creepy Carrots (written by Aaron Reynolds) which were amazing. I still think Mr. Tiger should have received an honor though. It’s very good.

And of course I have to send a great big CONGRATS to my friend, Kate DiCamillo who won the Newbery Medal for her latest, Flora & Ulysses. She is truly a wonder!